Tags

, , , ,

I recently purchased an HP M127fw printer/scanner, largely because of its rumored excellent support for Linux. Indeed, installing and getting it working was super easy – but only once I stumbled onto the right method. (First I read page after page about the HPLIP printing system and possible necessary plugins, and saw many different sets of (relatively) complicated instructions for installation, each one a beautiful and unique snowflake.)

But here’s all you have to do: run hp-setup, preferably as root:

sudo hp-setup

aaaaand that’s pretty much it. If you have Linux Mint 17 (and I’m sure many other distros, but this is what I can verify), then you already have hp-setup installed on your system. If not, you’ll have to use your package manager to get it. I’ve included screenshots below so you can see what to expect.

sudo hp-setupHP Device Manager - Setup (Step 1 of 3)

Above was the only moment of confusion. I can’t tell you the difference between the middle two options, but the selected option gave me what I wanted: the printer is now a device on my wireless network.

HP Device Manager - Setup (Step 2 of 3)

HP Device Manager - Enter Username/Password

This annoyance is because I didn’t run it with sudo. :-/ Learn from my mistakes!

HP Device Manager - Plugin Installer (Step 1 of 2) HP Device Manager - Setup (Step 3 of 3)

Above is how this window appeared initially. The only changes I made were to the printer name and test page checkbox:

HP Device Manager - Setup (Step 3 of 3)

Below you can see some of the options the driver provides. Scanning works, as well (although my Mac got much better results from the ADF).

Print Dialogue Print Dialogue

