Tags

, , , ,

OS X Yosemite

OS X Yosemite

Security guru Bruce Schneier points out an article detailing a new “feature” of Yosemite, wherein as-yet-unsaved text files and email addresses are uploaded to Apple’s servers without users’ knowledge or consent. Check out his summary here, and click through for the full explanation. Commenters point out that this is disclosed in Apple’s knowledgebase (and I’m sure it’s buried in a TOS somewhere, so “without users’ consent” may be technically inaccurate), and that – essentially – it should be expected behavior for iCloud users. It is an interesting world we live in where the is a legitimate debate over “OMG! I just discovered my personal computer is uploading my private data to a corporate server without my knowledge!!” vs “of course it is, doofus. Didn’t you assume it was? It makes life easier!” I feel a little weird about it, but I think I come down on the latter side. If you have an iCloud account (I’m assuming this only applies to people with iCloud accounts, though I don’t know for sure), then you should assume that your unsaved documents are going there, too, because it DOES make life easier. iCloud gonna iCloud.

Advertisements